Generator Hostel Review: Hamburg

Posted on July 29, 2013

2



Current Longitude: 16.944008
Current latitude: 52.406374
Location: Poznan, Poland

Hi Readers,

The Generator Hostel is conveniently located very close to Hamburg HBF train station and Hamburg ZOB bus station making it a very easy walk following your journey into Hamburg. Entering the hostel you become witness to a very large and busy lobby. I immediately notice that the hostel is very new. I then made my way to the receptionists desk to be greeted. I wouldn’t say it was a greeting as much as it was a look of disgust. Luckily, undeterred by this experience I pushed the boundaries of our ‘receptionist-guest relationship’ by suggesting that I could leave my bag somewhere while I waited for check in at 2pm.

After reaching 2pm I made my way to my room and I must say the rooms are very nice. The rooms have their own shower and toilet, which are small, but you really can’t complain. Each bed has its own lockable draw as well as a power point, light and USB charging points. It’s a very good layout, with absolutely everything you need.

Making my way down to the hostel’s bar I noticed that there was a particularly odd mixture of guests. The guests ranged from small children, pre-pubescent teens, school groups, parents, groups of middle-aged men and so on. This made for a particularly odd feeling in the bar that was less than comfortable.

The Generator Hostel is is an extremely well thought out hostel, it has everything you need and more. It should be an awesome place to stay but it isn’t. My thoughts are that it’s the commerciality of this hostel that causes it to miss the mark. It seems to be a place that is trying overly hard to be ‘cool’ but at the same time also wants to get as much money out of you as physically possible. Additionally, due it being so new it lacks that quality or feeling that says ‘I’m a hostel with stories to tell’, it just doesn’t seem like it’s walls have seen anything yet.

Cost: 21.50 Euros per night

Pros: Location, Rooms

Cons: Hostel Staff, Weird assortment of guests, weird ‘vibe’

 

Cheers,
ILY – Luke Hymann

 

To keep following this blog:

  1. Follow this Blog (on the top right of this page)
  2. Subscribe on Youtube
  3. Follow on Twitter

You may also be interested in: